mlouisalocke_bks_medWelcome to the website and blog of M. Louisa Locke, the indie author of the Victorian San Francisco Mystery series featuring Annie Fuller and Nate Dawson. Go to Books to learn about the first four books in the series, Maids of MisfortuneUneasy Spirits, Bloody Lessons, and Deadly Proof as well as the new novella, Violet Vanquishes a Villain. Go to Short Stories to see the individual short stories, which are  based on minor characters from the series.

I have also started writing in the Paradisi Chronicles, a multi-author science fiction world. See Between Mountain And Sea, Book 1 of the Caelestis Series, The Stars are Red Tonight, the novella I co-wrote with my daughter, and the anthology, Chronicle Worlds: Paradisi, for my  short story, “Aelwyd: Home.”

Check out my Blog for the latest news on the world of self-publishing and historical fiction. Enter the world of Victorian San Francisco to learn about the places, people, and events that are featured in my books and stories. If you wish to contact me, see Contact.


A science fiction adventure through time, space and generations, brought to life through the creativity and independent perspectives of multiple authors. Enter the world of the Paradisi Chronicles, where every new journey is a surprise ride you’ll never want to get off

Just launched! 

The Chronicle Worlds: Paradisi Short Story Anthology

Another world. Another chance…

In the last decades of the twenty-first century, seeking to escape a devastated Earth, ten families focus on constructing spaceships to colonize the world they call New Eden, in the Paradisi System. But the world they claim for their own is already inhabited, and the Ddaerans, although human in appearance, possess abilities that the Founders and their descendants do not…

In this latest title in the acclaimed ‘Future Chronicles’ series of speculative fiction anthologies, twelve authors take us on that incredible journey with adventurers, scientists and colonists, as they push the boundaries against the unknown, against alien civilization, and themselves.

Buy the Book

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA 

Sign up for my Newsletter to be notified when any of my new books or short stories are published (and download Free electronic copies of the short story collection, Victorian San Francisco Stories, and the new novella, Violet Vanquishes a Villain.)